Chorus of Women

Sunny spring weather for yesterday’s walk with friends; discuss election posters (lack of), asparagus (glut of), and flirtation (joys of). Arrive at half-way point to find selected pub still closed, but landlady fortunately recognises us from Cricket Club Bingo and opens up specially. One friend remarks that she had taught landlady’s husband at school; another that she used to babysit for him and his elder brother. All stare rather contemplatively at our drinks.

Conversation turns to imminent village production of The Winter’s Tale, which we reassure friend will All Come Right In The End despite some doubt over whether all roles have actually been cast, and a total current running time of about five hours; are all rather relieved that Players appear to have abandoned romantic visions of Shakespeare In The Garden after particularly ill-fated production of Twelfth Night  in the downpours of 2012 – though someone suggests that The Chairs In the Village Hall remain the greatest barrier to audience enjoyment.

Theatrical theme continues today with daughter’s school trip to see Lysistrata. Struggle to think of less suitable play for teenage girl to see in company of Headteacher, but it will no doubt prove very Educational all round.

16 thoughts on “Chorus of Women

  1. Read blog post. Was surprised to note that writer has experienced lack of political posters, should suggest writer visits our area where they are prolific perhaps? Wonder if writers daughter will have enjoyed play or not… Deliberated whether or not tell writer that post caused great mirth and hilarity. Could not decide if this would be considered seemly or not. Decided to say nothing. Feel perhaps should have.

    • Delighted to receive your most seemly and kind comment, and have been spending some time since trying to work out which constituency around Basildon Park is the site of such impressive political engagement! Daughter not yet back from play so no verdict as yet…

  2. Our (previous) MP actually came to my door and spoke to me. It was a thrilling moment, he was a government minister so on the telly and everything. And he was on my doorstep! Which was thankfully freshly washed. Five hours of The Winter’s Tale promises to be a very memorable evening, especially on the village hall chairs. I can only sit still on uncomfortable chairs for about seven minutes. No doubt Lysistrata will be memorable too, although for very different reasons. I’m guessing there aren’t any boys going. CJ xx

    • That must have been quite a moment; no such celebrity visits here, though my daughter was quite excited to spot our former MP (on the telly in a local news sort of way) leafleting in town last week. Lysistrata was apparently A Bit Awkward Sometimes but also very funny; will let you know how The Winter’s Tale goes (at a brisk pace, I hope…).

  3. Handy, being recognised by a pub landlady, however young they are. Joining in with the above conversation, I too have noticed that there are very few election posters around here (SE London).

    • Yes, I’m sure there used to be many more posters when I was younger; I do quite like seeing them around, and still hope that there might be a last-minute Surge. I might have to worry if I start being recognised by too many pub landladies….

      • It would be lovely to read it, if you felt like posting it here – I have long had a fondness for Robert’s approach to the world.

      • I enjoyed your fine essay, thank you, and it perfectly reflects my view of Robert, although I had never realised I had a view until you raised the matter. One of my favourite bits is when he reads her newly published book, turning pages quite often, and after a long silence says it is Funny.

        And how fitting that you were shortlisted, just as with ‘Time and Tide’.

      • Thank you! I didn’t think that I had a particular view of Robert either, but felt a strange compulsion to defend him when I read the rather Harsh criticisms by others last year.

  4. Sad to say that nearest election poster in immediate vicinity of my home is of the rather garish purple and yellow brand; an unseemly sight that fills me with horror and thoughts of shame whenever I pass by. Might I suggest the notion of ‘Bring your own cushion’ for the dreaded Chairs in the Village Hall in order to ease the audience’s enjoyment of the play? Kind regards, Ms. Hamid.

    • I expect you will be relieved once the election campaign is all over – not long to go now…Thank you very much for your helpful suggestion for the village hall; rather more practical than my friend’s suggestion of “Bring Your Own Chairs”!

Leave a Comment

