Unconsidered trifles

London friend e-mails with nine pages of colleague’s annual Eurovision predictions and says that she is All Agog for next diary instalment.   Delighted by image of busy urban professionals eagerly awaiting news of Pensioners’ Lunch Club, Horticultural Association Coffee Morning and Almshouses Opening Ceremony, and am happy to report that they All Went Very Well. Friend’s performance in The Winter’s Tale was also A Triumph, though cannot help thinking that Players may have rather overestimated village’s enthusiasm for Shakespeare’s late Problem Plays; lady next to me says she preferred their production of  ‘Allo ‘Allo.

Am very grateful for everyone’s reading suggestions after last diary entry. Cannot sadly find any of the recommended books in village library, and current reading consists of Oxford Companion to Children’s Literature (pure pleasure) and Facebook (general bewilderment); younger son particularly horrified that I have joined latter and spends some time trying to find and then Block me, in spite of my repeated assurances that I have joined only in order to ease administration of Tuesday walking group and have not the slightest desire to be his Friend on Facebook or indeed anywhere else.

Feel like spending all my time now looking at images of Chelsea Flower Show or pottering around own garden.  Will freely admit that it is not really a spring garden or a late summer garden, and that it does not look particularly impressive in the autumn or winter either;  but for a few weeks in May and June find that there is no place I would rather be.

22 thoughts on “Unconsidered trifles

  1. Have just come in from pottering in my own garden – I find a pair of rose-tinted specs and a very active imagination essential in appreciating it – not unlike my children, from time to time…

  2. As far as the amateur dramatics is concerned, I admire their Give the People what they Should Have rather than What they Want approach. Am currently reading ‘Middlesex’ by Geoffrey Eugenides and admiring it immensely. Judy.

  3. Sometimes parents shouldn’t know too much about what their little darlings are up to! I could think of nothing worse than reading my son’s Facebook entries – although FB didn’t exist when he was young enough to scandalise me with what he was (in my view) far too young to know. But The Gardener’s eldest, spending her second year backpacking in New Zealand, seems not to have noticed that every other photo her friends tag her in seems to feature alcohol….

    • Yes, I think that there is much to be said for the Ignorance Is Bliss approach to child-rearing. Though, as you say, it seems surprisingly easy to find out all sorts of mildly incriminating information about all sorts of people via the wonders of Social Media.

  4. One of my friend’s sons has a parent friendly FB page which they are invited to befriend and one that they are not. My puzzlement is further increased by unexpected requests from friend’s children to be their Friend. I agreed out of baffled politeness and then regretted it immediately for the same reason as Rachel. TMI.

    • Whenever my daughter’s contemporaries send a ‘friend request’ it is immediately deleted, I DO NOT WANT TO KNOW, immediately comes to mind. You are able, Lucille, to click an ‘unfollow’ button, that way you do not see their news but remain their ‘friend’.

      • Yes, Facebook has already made me realise just how much there is that I really don’t want to know. Thank you for the useful tips!

  5. Am wishing that brain would allow thought process to come up with witty reply to blog post. Should remember to share that am also enjoying Chelsea, but fear that own garden never really looks at best in any season, more collection of plants that look good at their own time, but never as a whole. Note, must remember to view Eurovision Song Contest as way of giving self a good laugh after seeing mention on fellow bloggers blog. Really must work harder on witty replies… xx

    • Always love getting your comments, and very much hope that you are not really worrying about levels of Wit! Your garden looks lovely to me – mine would not win prizes at any time of year, but early to mid-summer is when most of the plants that I love are at their best. According to my friend’s colleague’s comprehensive Eurovision notes, we can expect a lot of beards and a lot of ballads this year, but the chances of a good laugh nonetheless remain High.

  6. The garden in May sunshine is indeed a lovely place to be, although after looking at Chelsea on television mine has made me sigh a little. I did manage to sink the socket for the rotary washing line invisibly into the grass recently though, which made me happy out of all proportion. Now I can just mow over the top of it. Honestly, is there anything that can’t be learnt on Youtube? So glad that The Winter’s Tale was a triumph, it’s nice that they are aiming high and bringing culture to the unwashed masses. CJ xx

    • I was watching the Chelsea coverage as well, and have decided that my new motto will be The Beauty Of Imperfection, as espoused by the designer of that lovely perfumed garden. I’m very impressed by your sunken socket success and would be quite disproportionately happy too if I were you.

  7. PS You are aware, aren’t you, Mrs F, that Facebook never lets you go? (a bit like the Catholic church, where you can only lapse, not leave, slamming the door forever…) And that while you may ‘deactivate’ your account, every time you click on anything that has something to do with FB, it will open yours up again for you, and send you an email to tell you that your are welcomed back into the fold? I hate it with a passion, mostly because of the banalities my otherwise intelligent and interesting friends seem to post, so I look at The Gardener’s instead (stuffed with other photographers and political outrage) in order to keep in touch with his daughters. Although that is sometimes best avoided too…

    • My very limited experience of Facebook so far does seem to accord very closely with yours! I did only join because that’s how my (real) friend organises our weekly village walks, and I am planning to give Facebook as little of myself as possible; but I do have a slight sense of having made a pact with the devil….

  8. Oh dear – am I the only person left in the world who isn’t on Facebook – or should I say are Malcolm and I the only two people. Apart from my blog, the whole social media thing has no interest for us.
    Our garden is looking good, despite being neglected for three weeks while we were sunning ourselves in Majorca (we are now freezing in Hawick!!)

    • I don’t think I count as a proper Facebook user, so don’t worry! It’s a very strange phenomenon, which I haven’t really understood at all yet. Blogs make much more sense to me as well. Your garden is indeed looking good, judging by the photos on your blog – it must have been good to come back to it after three weeks away, even if you miss the sun…

Leave a Comment

