Child’s play

Tell children yesterday that am going to local cathedral city to Make A Start On Christmas Shopping; foolishly ask whether there is anything I can get for them while I’m there, and spend much of morning in Boots staring in some bewilderment at men’s haircare products.  Get rather flustered trying to stuff various apparently essential items of school uniform into own carrier bags in Marks and Spencer under watchful eye of otherwise idle shop assistant at till; she says she is very glad that she doesn’t have to touch Some People’s Bags (which, she tells me, look as though they have been Used For Carrying Potatoes).

City not yet particularly Christmassy,  and while the dreaded Christmas Soundtrack is blaring out in some shops, buskers outside are still sticking to slightly out-of-tune versions of “Let Her Go“. Manage to find quite a few things that I would like, buy one small item for my daughter, and can only hope that retailers are not mistaken in their clear belief that colouring books for adults  are the answer to everything.

Happy evening watching candidates on The Apprentice produce terrible children’s birthday parties on a budget of £2000 apiece.

 

8 thoughts on “Child’s play

  1. I use the self scan at the supermarket and just as I think I should clean the inside of the bags, I get called over for the cashier to do a rescan. Mortified, I wave away their offer to pack my bags and as soon as I get home empty the bags and scrub them out. Haven’t had to do a rescan for months so will get one step ahead and clean them this weekend. I fear one of them could possibly be used not for carrying potatoes, but actually growing them.
    I don’t understand colouring in for adults and cannot believe that the piles of colouring books will sell.

    • Yes, it seems we now have the whole new worry of Feeling Judged By Shop Assistants On The State Of Our Reusable Shopping Bags. Potatoes would grow well in the bags my sons use for their football boots – thank goodness I’d left those ones at home. It will be interesting to see what happens with the colouring books – there were a lot of them on display…

    • Thank you. I do like looking at all the beautiful things on the V & A website – though find that this generally leads to the rather less elevated pursuit of looking at all the beautiful things in their online shop. And thank you for the Father Ted clip – takes me back…

  2. Don’t be hard on shop assistants or out of tune buskers. Shop assistants are given a thankless role on their feet, kept in the dark about most things. As for out of tune buskers I am always moved by their infectious enthusiasm. For something tuneless but strangely entertaining and delightfully kitsch I give you this:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSUJos8Y01M

    • The festive Muzak yesterday brought back memories of my own short spell as a particularly inept shop assistant at Boots one Christmas. I have absolutely the greatest respect for anyone who can do a customer-facing job day after day.

Leave a Comment

